Home > Sermon > Why I am Reformed Baptist

Why I am Reformed Baptist

I did not stumble upon the doctrines held by Reformed Baptist by accident. I came out of independent charismatic churches and out of a system known as dispensationalism. I learned Reformed Theology from listening to the well known teacher and Professor named R. C. Sproul.

When I came to the knowledge of Reformed Theology I began to read everything I could get my hands on that would teach me the Reformed understanding of the Bible. Therefore, I leaned heavily towards the infant baptism point of view at first. I struggled and read and listened to multiple sermons on the subject of infant baptism and believer’s only baptism.

After a while of struggling and moving back and forth between the two positions, I came down hard on the side of the Reformed Baptist views of scripture and the sacraments of the church. I would now consider myself a follower of those early American Puritans who came to the knowledge of the truth on baptism and switched their views from infant baptism to believer’s only baptism.

I am Reformed, Baptist, Covenantal, and Amillennial.

 

I point you to a sermon by James White that explains “Why I am reformed Baptist?”

  1. April 19, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Well explained. I am Reformed, Presbyterian, Covenantal and Amillennial.

    • April 19, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      Thank you for your comment.

      I suppose we are real close on the way we view scripture.

  2. April 20, 2012 at 8:05 am

    Thanks for sharing your story. My story is very similar, and I hold similar views. I too began to understand the doctrines of grace through the teaching of Sproul. Praise God for his ministry!

    • April 20, 2012 at 10:50 am

      Thank you for your comment.

      I will amen that. Thank God for R. C. Sproul’s ministry.

  3. April 20, 2012 at 10:56 am

    It was Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology that started triggered a move from Arminianism. I took a class on TULIP with John Piper. From there I could not stop. Sproul, Horton, Keller, Carson,Packer works led me to Edward, Owen, Calvin, Luther, and Augustine.

    The doctrine of Grace changed everything. My relationship with God, wife, Church and ministry.

    Thank you for a great post.

    • April 20, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      Thank you for commenting. I myself love to read the writings of the men you are naming. There books have been a source of inspiration to me in my spiritual journey.

      Thanks again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 800 other followers

