Home > Book Read > Some Thoughts on the Reading of Books

Some Thoughts on the Reading of Books

by Albert R. Mohler

I cannot really remember when I did not love to read books. I do know that I was very eager to learn to read, and that I quickly found myself immersed in the world of books and literature. It may have been a seduction of sorts, and the Christian disciples must always be on guard to guide the eyes to books worthy of a disciple’s attention—and there are so many.

As Solomon warned, “Of making many books there is no end” (Ecc 12:12). There is no way to read everything, and not everything deserves to be read. I say that in order to confront the notion that anyone, anywhere, can master all that could be read with profit. I read a great deal, and a large portion of my waking hours are devoted to reading. Devotional reading for spiritual profit is an important part of the day, and that begins with the reading of Scripture. In terms of timing, I am somewhat unorthodox. My best time for spending time in the Word is late at night, when all is calm and quiet and I am mentally alert and awake. That is not the case when I first get up in the mornings, when I struggle to find each word on the page (or anything else, for that matter).

 

 

 

Read the entire article here.

  1. September 29, 2015 at 9:36 am

    That was good. Thanks for the link.

    • September 29, 2015 at 9:46 am

      Your welcome. I enjoy your blog as well. I actually downloaded the last sermon you blogged, but haven’t gotten around to listening to it yet. Blessings.

  2. September 29, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. I was going to read it the other night then I forgot about it so this is a timely reminder!

    • September 29, 2015 at 1:27 pm

      Your welcome. Albert Mohler is pretty solid. Have a great day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

