Home > Evangelism > 5 Tips for Engaging those Different than Yourself

5 Tips for Engaging those Different than Yourself

by Jon English Lee

I have a confession to make: I am a terrible evangelist. I do try, but I can’t seem to have much success or consistency.[1] I often find myself hiding behind the excuse that “I’m an introvert.” But the real problem is that I am just not loving my neighbor as myself. The task is made even more difficult when the people I am trying to reach are different than myself. I live in Montgomery, Alabama, the self proclaimed “Birthplace of the Civil Rights Movement.” However, there is hardly a place that more demonstrates the need for racial reconciliation than this city. So, within that cultural milieu, I try to build relationships and overcome the relational and cultural barriers between me and my neighbors. Those barriers are numerous and varied: racial, cultural, generational, and religious, to name a few.

As I have reflected, studied, and prayed about my commitment to personal evangelism, I have gleaned a few tips that have helped me overcome the relational barriers it takes to reach out to people, especially people different than myself.

 

 

 

Read the entire article here.

 

  1. November 6, 2015 at 1:36 am

    Helpful

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

