Home > Calvinism > Where’d All These Calvinists Come From?

Where’d All These Calvinists Come From?

By Mark Dever

Two events served to bring to the front of my mind the growing prominence of reformed theology among the young in the American evangelical scene.

1. I was having dinner in Manhattan a couple of years ago, seated between a couple of older prominent evangelical Anglicans. They were discussing the drought of good preaching that they had been surviving through for the last couple of decades. I said only a little to them (said that wasn’t my impression), but it made me notice the veritable garden that it seems to me in the circles I run in that God is growing up.

2.At Together for the Gospel, April 2006, at one point I asked people to stand by ages. Out of 3,000 we had a few senior citizens. Some guys in their 50’s. A lot in their 40’s. A TON in their 30’s. And even MORE in their 20’s. Now, there could be a lot of reasons for that, but let me simply say that when Collin Hansen came out with his interesting article about “Young, Restless and Reformed” in the fall of 2006, I had already observed the phenomenon and agreed with the premise of his article–that there does seem to be something of a reformed revival among those born in the 1970s & 1980s.

 

 

 

Read the entire article here.

  1. November 11, 2015 at 11:46 pm

    Remembered reading this article a little while back

    • November 12, 2015 at 7:20 am

      First time I had read it myself. Pretty good article on why Calvinism is gaining ground.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

