Home > Preaching > How Not to Illustrate

How Not to Illustrate

By Tom Chantry

Last Sunday I preached on Ephesians 4:14, “…so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine…” Harkening back to Homiletics 101, I thought it might be a good idea to open the sermon with an observation about the importance of steering. With that thought, an illustration was born.

It’s winter in Wisconsin, so of course I thought of sleds. I talked about how much sled technology has changed. We see children with bumps and bruises because they were hit by sleds. Of course, if anyone had been run over by a sled when I was a child, he would have been seriously hurt. I don’t recall it happening, though, because as solidly built as our Rosebud-style sleds were, they also included a flexible steering bar. Today’s sledder is at the mercy of the hill, which takes him wherever it pleases. Warming up to my illustration, I described a harrowing downhill trip with one of my children in one of the modern plastic…

 

 

 

Read the entire article here.

  1. February 2, 2016 at 5:45 pm

    Glad you shared this. I think the point about not using illustrations again and again was good, I tend to use some illustrations again and again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

