Home > Sovereignty > God teaches us the truth that He alone is God by making the way of salvation the same for all

God teaches us the truth that He alone is God by making the way of salvation the same for all

Spurgeon 3We say again, how this humbles the man! There is a gentleman who says, “Well if it had been a thousand pounds that would have saved me, I would have thought nothing of it.” But your gold and silver is cankered; it is good for nothing “Then am I to be saved just the same as my servant Betty?” Yes, just the same, there is no other way of salvation for you. That is to show man that Jehovah is God, and that beside him there is none else. The wise man says, “If it had been to work the most wonderful problem, or to solve the greatest mystery, I would have done it. May I not have some mysterious gospel? May I not believe in some mysterious religion?” No, it is “Look!” “What! am I to be saved just like that Ragged School-boy, who can’t read his letters?” Yes, you must, or you will not be saved at all. Another says, “I have been very moral and upright. I have observed all the laws of the land, and if there is anything else to do, I will do it; I will eat only fish on Fridays, and keep all the fasts of the church, if that will save me.” No, sir, that will not save you; your good works are good for nothing. “What! must I be saved in the same way as a harlot or a drunkard?” Yes, sir, there is only one way of salvation for all. “He hath concluded all in unbelief, that he might have mercy upon all.” He hath passed a sentence of condemnation on all, that the free grace of God might come upon many to salvation “Look! Look! Look!” This is the simple method of salvation. “Look unto me, and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth.”

Charles H. Spurgeon- Sovereignty and Salvation-A Sermon Delivered On Sabbath Morning, January 6

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

