Home > Gospel > The doctrines of the Grace of God makes a man look down upon himself and say, “I am nothing”

The doctrines of the Grace of God makes a man look down upon himself and say, “I am nothing”

SpurgeonAt the same time this doctrine makes a man look down upon himself. “Ah,” saith he, “I am nothing, there is nothing in me to merit esteem. I have no goodness of my own. If saved, I cannot praise myself; I cannot in any way ascribe to myself honor; God has done it, God has done it.” Nothing makes the man so humble; but nothing makes him so glad; nothing lays him so low at the mercy seat, but nothing makes him so brave to look his fellow man in the face. It is a grand truth: would God ye all knew its mighty power!

Charles H. Spurgeon- Salvation Altogether by Grace (2 Timothy 1:9)- Delivered on Sunday Morning July 29th, 1866

  1. November 1, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    So true, a biblical view of the grace of God truly humbles Christians

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

