Home > Theology Proper > God is a perfect being and therefore cannot change

God is a perfect being and therefore cannot change

Spurgeon 32. Well, I think that one argument will be enough, but another good argument may be found in the fact of God’s perfection. I believe God to be a perfect being. Now, if he is a perfect being, he cannot change. Do you not see this? Suppose I am perfect to-day. If it were possible for me to change, should I be perfect tomorrow after the alteration? If I changed, I must either change from a good state to a better — and then if I could get better, I could not be perfect now-or else from a better state to a worseand if I were worse, I should not be perfect then. If I am perfect, I cannot be altered without being imperfect. If I am perfect to-day, I must keep the same to-morrow if I am to be perfect then. So, if God is perfect, he must be the same- for change would imply imperfection now, or imperfection then.

Charles H. Spurgeon- The Immutability of God- A sermon delivered on Sabbath morning, Jan 7th, 1855

  1. January 9, 2017 at 7:50 am

    Reblogged this on Shepherd/Guardian.

  2. January 9, 2017 at 10:34 pm

    Amen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

