Home > Comment > Charles Spurgeon’s Letters-Letter 101

Charles Spurgeon’s Letters-Letter 101

TO MR. THOMAS OLNEY

NIGHTINGALE LANE, Friday, Nov. 26, 1869.

MY DEAR MR. OLNEY, —

It seems so strange to be so near to you, and yet to be virtually in another land. It would have seemed an idle tale if anyone had told me that I should not be at your father’s death-bed. Nevertheless, it is well,-well especially for him to whom a longer sojourn here would have meant pain, weakness, and failure of mind, while his departure means a glory too resplendent for us to imagine it.

I quite think that, if you can get Mr. Brock, it will be just what he himself would have desired in my absence. I have sent to the deacons my request to have the pulpit hung with black, for his death is as much a bereavement to us all as anything could be.

My dear friend, I devoutly pray to God to incline your heart to be henceforth to me all that your father has been till he fell asleep. Not that you have not ever been the soul of goodness: but now he is gone, you must undertake more publicly the responsibilities which in private you really have borne; and if the Lord accounts me worthy to have in Thomas Olney the same tender friend that I have had in Thomas Olney, sen., my pathway in life will be smoothed, and my labor cheered.

The Lord be with you! My devoutest wishes are for your best happiness.

Yours most truly,

C. H. SPURGEON.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

