Home > Gospel > The Wednesday Word: Making too much of Jesus?

The Wednesday Word: Making too much of Jesus?

I’ve sometimes been accused of making too much of Jesus. I love that charge but deny it entirely. The truth is, I don’t make nearly enough of the precious Saviour.

I like what an old time Anglican Bishop said; “We can never make too much of Christ…. We can never have too high thoughts about Christ, can never love Him too much, trust Him too implicitly, lay too much weight upon Him, and speak too highly in His praise. He is worthy of all the honour that we can give Him. He will be all in heaven. Let us see to it, that He is all in our hearts on earth.”

The Bible makes much of Jesus, but never too much. I’ve been told that He can be found on every page of Holy Writ. I didn’t say I can find Him on every page, but I’m pretty confident He’s there all the same.

So tell me, how can we make too much of the One who shed His blood for our blessing?

How can we make too much of the One who has brought us to God by His own blood?

How can we make too much of the One who has given us the blessings of forgiveness, acquittal, redemption and reconciliation?

How can we make too much of the one whose blood has so thoroughly purged our sins that the Father sees neither defect nor defilement of guilt remaining on us?

If there is no blood, there is no blessing. If there is no slaughter, there is no Salvation. Mark it down; no favour can come to us apart from the shed blood of the Lord Jesus.

How then can we make too much of such a Saviour?

Please indulge me. Let me for a moment make much of Him. Did you know that His very name means Salvation? And, did you know that His priceless name is discovered all over the Old Testament? That’s right! The name of Jesus is found in the Old Testament. Let me explain: The name by which our Master was known during His time on earth was yĕshuw`ah. The name Jesus comes from the transliteration of yĕshuw`ah into Greek and then English.

His name yĕshuw`ah (Jesus) means salvation, deliverance, victory and welfare. On 78 occasions, the word yĕshuw`ah (Jesus) is found in the Old Testament. It’s most common translation is the word “Salvation.” This is stunning! The Old Testament is pointing out that Salvation and Jesus are one and the same. How then can we make too much of Him?

May our hearts feed on this truth. Consider how when the word says “The LORD is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation (my yĕshuw`ah…my Jesus): he is my God, …”(Exodus 15:2).

In Psalms 9:14, David bursts out in song saying; “I will rejoice in thy salvation.” What he actually was saying was; “I will rejoice in thy yĕshuw`ah. (Jesus).”

In Isaiah 12:2, 3 “SALVATION” is mentioned three times. Here is how it reads:

“Behold, God is my Yĕshuw`ah; (my Jesus) I will trust, and not be afraid: for Jehovah is my strength and my song; he also is Yĕshuw`ah (Jesus). Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of Yĕshuw`ah (Jesus).

Then there’s “But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation (yĕshuw`ah)” Psalm 13:5.

And again, “Oh that the salvation ((yĕshuw`ah), of Israel were come out of Zion! When God brings back the captivity of his people, Jacob shall rejoice, and Israel shall be glad” (Psalm 53:6).

These are but a few instances!

It’s no wonder then that Jesus declared, “I am the way, the truth, and the life” (John 14:6). It’s without surprise that He unashamedly announced, “I am the alpha and the omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.” (Revelation 22:13).

We have only begun to scratch the surface of the unsearchable treasures of Christ. We can never make too much of Him.

And that’s the Gospel Truth!

Miles Mckee

www.milesmckee.com 

  1. March 22, 2017 at 9:42 am

    The thought of our making too much of Christ is made clear by your comment, that we don’t truly make enough of Christ,.. thank you for such a great look at the side that many should see.

    • March 22, 2017 at 10:26 am

      You are right brother. I am also glad to hear from you. I searched around on Facebook and then posted to my wall asking about you. Some facebooker’s filled me in. You are in my thoughts and prayers brother.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

