Home > Comment > Charles Spurgeon’s Letters-Letter 114

Charles Spurgeon’s Letters-Letter 114

To [Mr. Barrow, Sen.].

WESTWOOD, May. 22, 1881.

DEAR MR. BARROW, —

I am extremely sorry that I cannot come out to-night. I would not give a lame excuse, but, alas, my being lame is the hindrance. I am hardly able to keep out of bed, and to make a journey to Stockwell is quite beyond me.

I think on such a theme as your noble help to the Orphanage I could have risen to eloquence, but Mr. Olney who is always eloquent will make up for me in that direction. I should, however, have said how glad I am personally to see you treading in your father’s footsteps, and doing in many ways that which would have filled the good old man’s heart with delight.

I am personally obliged to you and Mrs. Barrow for helping the Stockwell Orphanage, and in signing my name to the Testimonial, I can truly say, I did it with all my heart.

God bless and prosper you very abundantly. You will, I know, excuse a cripple. My heart is with the gathering of the evening, though my legs will not carry me into its midst. Peace be to all.

My kindest regards are hereby sent to you and Mrs. Barrow.

Yours very heartily,

C. H. SPURGEON.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

