Home > Gospel > The gospel has a second power, besides being “death unto death,” it is “a savor of life unto life”

The gospel has a second power, besides being “death unto death,” it is “a savor of life unto life”

2. But, blessed be God, the gospel has a second power. Besides being “death unto death,” it is “a savor of life unto life.” Ah! my brethren, some of us could speak, if we were allowed this morning, of the gospel as being “a savor of life” to us. We can look back to that hour when we were “dead in trespasses and sins.” In vain all Sinai’s thunders, in vain the rousing of the watchmen; we slept on in the death sleep of our transgressions; nor could an angel have aroused us. But we look back with joy to that hour when first we stepped within the walls of a sanctuary, and savingly heard the voice of mercy. With some of you it is but a few weeks. I know where ye are and who ye are. But a few weeks or months ago ye too were far from God, but; now ye are brought to love him. Canst thou look back my brother Christian, to that very moment when the gospel was “a savor of life” to thee-when thou didst cast, away thy sins, renounce the lusts, and turning to God’s Word, received it with full purpose of heart? Ah! That hour-of all hours the sweetest! Nothing can be compared there with. I knew a person who for forty or fifty years had been completely deaf. Sitting one morning at her cottage door as some vehicle was passing; she thought she heard melodious music. It was not music, it was but the sound of the vehicle. Her ear had suddenly opened, and that rough sound seemed to her like the music of heaven, because it was the first she had heard for so many years. Even so, the first time our ears were opened to hear the words of love-the assurance of our pardon-we never heard the word so well as we did then; it never seemed so sweet; and perhaps, even now, we look back and say,

“What peaceful hours I then enjoyed!

How sweet their memory still!”

When first it was “a savor of life” unto our souls.

Then, beloved, if it ever has been “a savor of life,” it will always be a savor of life,” because it says it is not a savor of life unto death, but “a savor of life unto life.” Now I must aim another blow at my antagonists the Arminians; I cannot help it. They will have it that sometimes the gospel is a savor of life unto death. They tell us that a man may receive spiritual life, and yet may die eternally. That is to say, a man may be forgiven, and yet be punished afterwards, he may be justified from all sin, and yet after that, his transgressions can be laid on his shoulders again. A man may be born of God, and yet die; a man may be loved of God, and yet God may hate him tomorrow. Oh! I cannot bear to speak of such doctrines of lies; let those believe them that like. As for me, I so deeply believe in the immutable love of Jesus that I suppose that if one believer were to be in hell, Christ himself would not long stay in heaven, but would soon cry, “To the rescue! to the rescue!” Oh! if Jesus Christ were in glory with one of the gems wanting in his crown, and Satan had that gem in hell, he would say, “Aha! prince of light and glory, I have one of thy jewels!” and he would hold it up, and then he would say, Aha! thou didst die for this man, but thou hadst not strength enough to save him; thou didst love him once-where is thy love? It is not worth having, for thou didst hate him afterwards!” And how would he chuckle over that heir of heaven, and hold him up, and say, “This man was redeemed. Jesus Christ purchased him with his blood:” and plunging him in the waves of hell, he would say, “There purchased one! see how I can rob the Son of God!” And then again he would say, “This man was forgiven; behold the justice of a God! He is to be punished after he is forgiven. Christ suffered for this man’s sins, and yet,” says Satan with a malignant joy, “I have him afterwards, for God exacted the punishment twice!” Shall that e’er be said? Ah! no. It is “a savor of life unto life,” and not of life unto death. Go, with your vile gospel; preach it where you please; but my Master said, “I give unto my sheep eternal life.” You give to your sheep temporary life, and they lose it; but, says Jesus, “I give unto my sheep ETERNAL life, and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hands.” I generally wax warm when I get to this subject because I think few doctrines more vital than that of the perseverance of the saints for if ever one child of God did perish, or if I knew it were possible that one could I should conclude at once that I must, and I suppose each of you would do the same; and then where is the joy and happiness of the gospel? Again I tell you the Arminian gospel is the shell without the kernel; it is the husk without the fruit, and those who love it may take it to themselves. We will not quarrel with them. Let them go and preach it. Let them go and tell poor sinners that if they believe in Jesus they will be damned after all, that Jesus Christ will forgive them, and yet the Father send them to hell. Go and preach your gospel, and who will listen to it? And if they do listen, is it worth their hearing? I say no; for if I am to stand after conversion on the same footing as I did before conversion, then it is of no use for me to have been converted at all. But whom he loves he loves to the end.

“Once in Christ, in Christ for ever:

Nothing from his love can sever.”

It is “a savor of life unto life.” And not only “life unto life” in this world, but; of life unto life” eternal. Every one who has this life shall receive the next life; for “the Lord will give grace and glory, and no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.”

I am obliged to leave this point; but if my Master will but take it up and make his word; a savor of life unto life” this morning, I shall rejoice in what I have said.

Charles H. Spurgeon- The Two Effects of the Gospel- A Sermon Delivered On Sabbath Morning, May 27, 1855

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

