Home > Gospel > There is eternal life in Christ Jesus

There is eternal life in Christ Jesus

In the third place, there is eternal life in Christ Jesus; and, oh! if eternal death be terrible, eternal life is blessed, for he has said, “Where I am there shall my people be.” “Father, I will, that they also, whom thou hast given unto me, be with me where I am, that they may behold my glory.” “I give unto my sheep eternal life, and they shall never perish.” Now, any Arminian that would preach from that text must buy a pair of India rubber lips for I am sure he would need to stretch his mouth amazingly; he would never be able to speak the whole truth without winding about in a most mysterious manner. Eternal life-not a life which they are to lose, but eternal life. If I lost life in Adam I gained it in Christ; if I lost myself for ever I find myself for ever in Jesus Christ. Eternal life! Oh blessed thought! Our eyes will sparkle with joy and our souls burn with ecstasy in the thought that we have eternal life. Be quenched ye stars! let God put his finger on you-but my soul will live in bliss and joy. Put out thine eye O sun!-but mine eye shall “see the king in his beauty” when thine eye shall no more make the green earth laugh; and moon, be thou turned into blood!-but my blood shall ne’er be turned to nothingness; this spirit shall exist when thou hast ceased to be; and thou great world! thou mayest all subside, just as a moment’s foam subsides upon the wave that bears it-but I shall have eternal life. O time! thou mayest see giant mountains dead and hidden in their graves; thou mayest see the stars like figs too ripe, falling from the tree; but thou shalt never, never see my spirit dead.

Charles H. Spurgeon- “Freewill- A Slave,” A Sermon Delivered On Sabbath Morning, December 2, 1855

  1. July 24, 2017 at 12:05 pm

    Amen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

